The Transport Department is headed by the Minister of Transport who is of the Cabinet Rank. At the administrative level in the Secretariat, the Department is headed by the Principal Secretary who is from the I.A.S. Cadre and assisted by the Deputy Secretary, Under Secretary, Officer on Special Duty and Financial Adviser with a contingent staffs of the Meghalaya Secretariat Service.


The Directorate is headed by the Commissioner of  Transport who is either from I.A.S. or State Civil Services Cadre who is also the ex-officio secretary State Transport Authority. The Commissioner of Transport is assisted by Deputy Commissioner of Transport, Finance and Account Officer, State Pool Officer and District Transport Officer (Enforcement). The DTO ( Enforcement ) who is in charge of the Enforcement Wing is also attached to the Head Office.


At the District level, there are seven districts offices and each office is headed by the District Transport Officer (D.T.O.) who is also the ex-officio secretary Regional Transport Authority. Both the powers and functions of the D.T.O. and Secretary R.T.A. are combined in one person.

There are Seven DTO's in the State of Meghalaya



Jaintia Hills District (Jowai) ML04
East Khasi Hills (Shillong) ML05
West Khasi Hills (Nongstoin) ML06
East Garo Hills (Williamnagar) ML07
West Garo Hills (Tura) ML08
South Garo Hills (Baghmara) ML09
Ri- Bhoi District (Nongpoh) ML10